Forever Young

Photo by Barry Feinstein. Bob Dylan, Aust Ferry, Aust, England, 1966.

 

Incredibly, this month has truly escaped me. It’s been busy. It’s been productive. It’s been good.

All-in-all, it’s been good.

 
 

I’ve rung in the New Year with anticipation, eager to leave 2011 behind.

I’ve begun, endured, and now nearly completed Winter Session.

I’ve learned about climate processes and minerals and geological hazards.

I’ve studied substance dualism and utilitarianism and moral relativism.

I’ve created an online professional portfolio for myself, and promotional materials on behalf of PRSSA-UD.

I’ve visited the Land of the Wahoos and intentionally detoured near Capitol Hill.

I’ve started interviewing with my post-graduate plans in mind.

 
 

I’ve done. I’ve seen. I’ve been.

Especially after today, though, I’ve talked. Too much. Today, despite the unseasonably, remarkably warm weather, I let circumstances get the best of me. Today, I am grateful for redemption, because life is just better when I’m not trying to do it all on my own.

I’ve still been, though. I’ve been a lot of me this past month. I’ve enjoyed spending time with my family, friends, and other loved ones. I’ve enjoyed simple things, like games of Skip-Bo, snippets of novels, and re-runs of Friends. It’s been good.

We’re a month in, and despite the busyness, I like 2012 so far. Yeah, I like it.

 
 

And as much as I’ve talked, I’ve listened, too. Well, in a way.

I’ve listened; I’ve listened to this —

 

May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young

May you grow up to be righteous
May you grow up to be true
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you
May you always be courageous
Stand upright and be strong
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
And may your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young

“Forever Young,” Bob Dylan

 
 

Cherish the good. Always cherish the good.

 
 

Comments
One Response to “Forever Young”
  1. raysikes says:

    Good thoughts, and the lyrics and picture of Bob are bonuses.

Leave a Reply

